Assignment for Friday, June 22: The Shirt Off Your Back

silk screen workshop

Explorers! What a week. You’ve braved the heat, worked at Bird, voted on a Flavor Paper design, made necklaces, and discovered geocaching. I, for one, am impressed.

Today is where everything you’ve seen this week starts to come together. I’m sending you to a screenprinting workshop with Dave, the founder of General Assembly Tees. General Assembly Tees makes rad T-shirts with designs based off of Dave’s work as a painter and from slogans and sayings and characters that he digs.

Screenprinting, or silkscreening, is a lo-fi way of putting a design on a piece of fabric. Dave is going to show you how it’s done, and then you’ll get to screenprint your own shirt. Think about all of the places you’ve been this week and all the trends you’ve seen when you think about what you want your design to be.

And, while you’re waiting for your brand new tees to dry, I want you to head over to Pier 6, a new part of Brooklyn Bridge Park that has volleyball courts, a water lab, a dog run, and a ferry dock with service to Governor’s Island. It is definitely one of the trendiest green spaces in Brooklyn right now.

This is the end of Trendsetters Week, but I’m still expecting a report at the end of the day, and I can’t wait to see your tee-shirts. I know I’m going to be inspired. You guys have been truly awesome explorers, listeners, adventurers, and creators. I am so honored to have been part of your week.

Until next time, trend experts!

