style.com: style file, animal planet

Shopping alert
Animal Planet

7 p.m. That’s what time Frances, 24, and Margaret, 12, secured their front-of-the-line spots outside of H&M’s Fifth Avenue flagship store last night. By 8:45 a.m. this morning the queue they headed wrapped around the corner and stretched well down 51st Street. Why? Because the Roberto Cavalli for H&M line goes on sale today. “We love him,” Frances, who was in town from Hackensack, New Jersey, with her younger cousin, said of Cavalli. “I don’t know how much I’m going to spend. As much as my credit card lets me. Until I max it out, I guess.” Further down, perched on lawn chairs, another group of Jersey girls talked prints. “We love leopard,” one said, on behalf of the group. “I don’t know where I’m going to wear it,” another said of a leopard-print dress she was eyeing. “I’m just going to buy it today and worry about that tomorrow.” And what time had they arrived? “3 a.m. I wasn’t surprised we weren’t the first one here,” one said, eyeing the competition by the doors. “I knew there’d be animals at the front of the line.”
—Alison Baenen

